“Replace the fear of the unknown with curiosity.” Handmade Bookmark

I love books, and I love papercraft. I also love quotes, they not only are charged with so much wisdom as they inspire me in my everyday life. When I combine quotes with papercraft I’m inspired to create small pieces of art (so says my sister), and here is the place where I’m sharing my creations step by step. I hope you enjoy journeying with me.

Right now I’m obsessed with bookmarks, so that’s what I’ll be working on until I can appease this obsession.

Denise is my second name, but that’s the one I love more. I’m a Stampin’ Up! Independent Demonstrator in the UK, but I also happen to be too eclectic to restrict myself to one brand only, if I can have it all, why not?

However, if you need something from Stampin’ Up! don’t hesitate and get in touch with me 😉

 

L4.2@

 

Materials & tools used:

A piece of plain cardstock measuring 17cm x 5cm

A piece of light blue cardstock (or white) measuring 14,5cm x 4,5cm

Printed quote or sentiment

Scalloped Tag Topper Punch by Stampin’ Up!

3/16 inch Corner Punch by Stampin’ Up!

Woodgrain background stamp by Stampin’ Up!

Hardware clear stamp set by Clear Art Stamps

Stormy Sky distress ink by Tim Holtz

Weathered Wood distress ink by Tim Holtz

Night Sky ink by Dew Drop VersaMagic

Midnight Black by Dew Drop VersaMagic

Some sort of glue. I used snail adhesive.

Snail refills available here.

 

Step by step tutorial:

For the first layer I used a 17cm by 5cm plain navy cardstock (my mat is in inches 😉  )

L1.1@

 

I used the Scalloped Tag Topper Punch.

L1.2@

 

And this was the result. I also rounded the bottom corners.

L1.4@

 

For the second layer I used a light blue cardstock measuring 14,5cm by 4,5cm.

L2.1@

 

That I stamped it with the Woodgrain background stamp using the Night Sky ink.

L2.2@

 

I then distressed the image with Stormy Sky distress ink.

L2.3@

 

Using the latch stamp from the Hardware clear stamp set, I stamped the four corners. (I should have rounded the corners before doing this stamping, but I forgot. Glad I left space for it!)

L2.4@

 

I printed out my quote, tore it and inked the edges,

L3.1@

 

using Weathered Wood distress ink.

L3.2@

 

Glued the quote on the second layer.

L3.3@

 

At this point I remembered to round the corners! I attached the second layer on the first, and stamped the key and the padlock from the Hardware clear stamp set.

This was the final result!

L4.2@

One would say that black is black, right? Wrong! The difference here is because I had been working on another project before and forgot to put away the Graphite Black ink, so as I was working on the step by step pictures process, I grabbed that ink instead of the Midnight Black, used on the picture on the left.

 

Find my Facebook like page here

Feel free to pin, like, share, tweak, adapt, be inspired, or just contact me if there is anything I can help with.

In Love & Gratitude,

Denise, xx

Leave a Reply

