“It feels good to be lost in the right direction.” Handmade Bookmark

Hi there!

Denise here with another bookmark, I hope you enjoy it.

 

Today’s creation

SAM_4222@

 

Materials & tools used:

A piece of plain blue cardstock measuring 18cm x 5cm

A piece of white cardstock measuring 9cm x 4,5cm

A piece of white cardstock measuring 7cm x 4,5cm

Printed quote or sentiment measuring approximately 6cm x 4cm

Angled Tag Topper Punch by Stampin’ Up!

Decorative Label Tag Punch by Stampin’ Up!

World Map background stamp by Stampin’ Up!

Travel Journal stamp set by Hero Arts

Salty Ocean distress ink by Tim Holtz

Tumbled Glass distress ink by Tim Holtz

Vintage Photo distress ink by Tim Holtz

Starlite Black ink by Dew Drop Brilliance

Mediterranean Blue ink by Dew Drop Brilliance

Some sort of glue. I used snail.

Snail refills available here.

 

Step by step tutorial:

First layer is a piece of plain blue cardstock measuring 18cm x 5cm, punched with the Angled Tag Topper Punch.

SAM_4189@

 

I then stamped the travel tag from the Travel Journal stamp set, with Starlite Black ink on the white piece of cardstock measuring 9cm x 4,5cm, and sponged the edges with Salty Ocean distress ink.

SAM_4198@

 

On the piece of white cardstock measuring 7cm x 4,5cm I stamped the map with the World Map background stamp.

SAM_4201@

 

With the Tumbled Glass distress ink, I distressed half of the image,

SAM_4202@

 

then I used the Vintage Photo distress ink for the other half.

SAM_4204@

 

After attaching the two pieces on my first layout, I stamped the sentiment ‘Enjoy the journey’ from the same Travel Journal stamp set, with the Mediterranean Blue ink.

SAM_4206@

 

The final touch was the quote punched out with the Decorative Label Tag Punch, and sponged edges with the Salty Ocean distress ink.

SAM_4222@

 

The first time I made this bookmark I didn’t like it. It was late, I was tired, and I still had a bunch of things to do. I thought my creativity had drained out for the night, so I cleaned all stamps and tidied my table, but before I stood up I glanced at it one more time. There was something I liked about it, so I started all over again. This time I only stamped the sentiment ‘Enjoy the journey’ one time, opposed to the two times I had stamped before. For the map piece at the bottom I had it one colour only, I think the added brown makes it much richer.

 

Find my Facebook like page here

Feel free to pin, like, share, tweak, adapt, be inspired, or just contact me if there is anything I can help with.

In Love & Gratitude,

Denise, xx

Leave a Reply

