Bonus Post ~ My Son’s Birthday Party ~

I’m glad I’m done with my son’s birthday party.

Last week when we were on our weakly shop, my husband came to me at the supermarket and showed me some little plastic trophies, I rolled my eyes and shook my head. When he asked to embellish them with my craft stuff, I wanted to scream. One of us was out of our minds, he for having the idea, or me for taking the time to work on it!

Well, I’ve tried to convince him to leave the clutter at the supermarket, but he kept on with his arguments that would be a cool thing… I looked at him, not sure I wanted to be the one having to do the work, and I just let it go. It must be a boyish thing!

Anyway, I made the invitations, envelope included.

SAM_4449@  SAM_4450@  SAM_4451@

 

And also did as I was asked…

SAM_4614@  SAM_4616@

 

On Saturday he asked me if I wanted something from the supermarket, I told him to bring some chocolates to put in the party bags. Then I remembered, he didn’t buy any bags! He looked at me, chocolates? What for?…Well, after I explained to him that it would be nice to pop some chocolates inside the bags (that I still had to make!) he agreed to bring some… Men can’t go shopping on their own! Sorry guys, it’s true.  He couldn’t find the big tins of  ‘Quality Street’ I’ve asked for so, he bought a small box, and also some bags of Easter eggs! If that wasn’t enough, he opened the kitchen’s cupboard, and said “We have some more here,” as he showed me the different boxes of chocolates he had bought already.

I told him that we would put the Easter eggs in the party bags and I would keep the ‘Quality Street’ box for myself. We want to offer some chocolate, not to intoxicate the kids 😛

So, here are the bags I made. One A4 sheet per bag, some scoring (Score at 10,14,24,28cm at the short side, and 4cm at the long side), some gluing, stamping, and of course some punching.

Now, about the punching let me tell you something, I was truly impressed with the Sampin’ Up! punch as this is a 315gsm card sheet, and when I punched it, I did it on both sides at the same time. This cardstock is so strong that at one point I could not punch it with a Martha Stewart punch. Thumbs up for Stampin’ Up!

SAM_4617@ SAM_4618@

Why are the bags green? Because with my kid we always have to use all colours available, otherwise life gets boring…

 

When I asked to my son what did he want as a birthday gift this year, he said he was already so grateful for his bowling party that we didn’t have to get him anything else. Besides, he didn’t want any toys, or even Legos… Again, must be a boyish thing not to consider Legos as toys… So, I asked him if I could offer him a book,he said yes straight away. As if we knew how to refuse a book being the bookworm he is!

We took him to WHSmith for him to choose the book he wanted (the two he had put on the shopping trolley at the supermarket didn’t count as birthday gifts!).

Already at WHSmith, as we passed the journals aisle, he stopped and grabbed a journal notebook saying he would like to have one. My brain lit up! I had just bought some ring binder mechanisms to make myself a few binders, so I thought I could make one for him and give him as a special little thing for his birthday.

Inspired by his trait of using all coulors available, this was the little something special that I made for my him. But not all went as I expected… And everything that could possible have gone wrong, went wrong.

It started all so well,

1@  2@  3@

 

Then I realised I had forgotten to do the stamping on the white background… after it was assembled… So, I thought I would cut some more paper, stamp it and then glue it on top… for some reason I grabbed some more of the blue paper I had selected for the inside, totally forgetting I wanted a white background, so I could stamp with as many bright colours I possible could.

4@  5@

 

As I stamped the feather (on the back) the stamp slid from my hand leaving a mark.

To finish the new cover I totally messed up the spine, inside and outside. Before was just too perfect :/

6@

I had to come up with something to fix it, this was my idea 😀

7@ 8@

It still didn’t have the appearance I wanted, and I certainly didn’t want to start from scratch again, so I just covered it with Mod Podge. It looks pretty good. And, of course, I had to throw in a handmade bookmark.

SAM_4623

 

BTW he only picked three more books, and decided to spend a gift of £50 he received… In a collection of six books!

 

Anyway, he loved the binder and read every single message I stamped on it, and the boys actually enjoyed the trophies after the game.

 

Find my Facebook like page here

Feel free to pin, like, share, tweak, adapt, be inspired, or just contact me if there is anything I can help with.

In Love & Gratitude,

Denise, xx

 

*Bonus Post is not a step by sep tutorial, and doesn’t have a specific day to be published. It’s just some random stuff that occurs in my life, and some how is related to paper craft.

Leave a Reply

