“It wasn’t that she was changing,…” Handmade Bookmark

Hi,

Today I bring you a quote, that I love, by Sherry Meneley.

You can find more about Sherry Meneley here ūüėČ

 

Today’s project

SAM_4542@

 

Materials & tools used:

A piece of plain orange cardstock measuring 14,5cm x 5cm

A piece of blue cardstock (a piece of scrap paper is enough) measuring 2cm x 5cm, after trimming

Printed quote or sentiment measuring 7,5cm x 3cm

Scalloped Tag Topper Punch by Stampin’ Up!

Bitty Butterfly punch by¬†Stampin’ Up!

Elegant Butterfly punch¬†by¬†Stampin’ Up!

Martha Stewart fence punch

Hardwood background stamp by Stampin’ UP!

Papillon Potpourri stamp set¬†by Stampin’ UP!

Pearlescent Lavender ink by Dew Drop Brilliance

Faded Jeans distress ink by Tim Holtz

Mustard Seed distress ink by Tim Holtz

Opaque white & Orange Embossing Powder

Embossing ink

Heat tool

Some sort of glue. I used liquid glue and snail adhesive.

Snail refills available here.

 

Step by step tutorial:

This time I started by stamping my first layer with the Hardwood background stamp, with Pearlescent Lavender ink, and set it aside to dry. 

SAM_4475@

 

This is one of the ways I print my quotes, using a¬†word processor sheet (I use OpenOffice), I create a table with one cell and seven columns, where I type my quote. That’s why my quotes usually have 3cm width, then I trim the height as I see fit.

SAM_4481@

 

After trimming my quote to 7,5cm, I distressed it with Mustard Seed distress ink, and inked the edges with Pearlescent Lavender ink.

SAM_4484@

 

I then stamped two butterflies, with different sizes, from the Papillon Potpourri stamp set,¬†with embossing ink on yellow cardstock, using opaque white embossing powder on the bigger butterfly, and orange embossing powder on the smaller, and heat embossed them. I took pictures of the butterflies stamped with the embossing ink, but I was using clear embossing ink… So the pictures don’t show anything. If you are not familiar with heat embossing¬†have a look at some videos on YouTube, you will find¬†great tutorials.¬†

SAM_4488@

 

I then punched them out with the Bitty Butterfly punch (orange butterfly), and Elegant Butterfly punch (white butterfly) and both punches coordinate with Papillon Potpourri stamp set. 

SAM_4491@

 

I then punched a blue cardstock with the Martha Stewart fence punch,

SAM_4494@

 

trimming it to 2cm height by around 5cm width,

SAM_4497@

 

and sponged the edges with Faded Jeans distress ink by Tim Holtz. (Thanks Elaine for the suggestion)

SAM_4500@

 

Only then I returned to my first layer, trimming it to 14,5cm, knowing that I would lose about 2mm when using the Scalloped Tag Topper Punch by Stampin’ Up!, making it ok to leave an area that was not stamped.

SAM_4505@  SAM_4507@  SAM_4510@

 

I assembled the bookmark using liquid glue for the fence and the butterflies to secure them better, and snail for the quote.

SAM_4542@

 

Find my Facebook like page here.

Feel free to pin, like, share, tweak, adapt, be inspired, or just contact me if there is anything I can help with.

In Love & Gratitude,
Denise, xx

Leave a Reply

