Gratitude Journal/My Book Of Positive Aspects ~ Notebook Covers

I made it!
Yes, the blog post for today is here. Today later than usual, and no, I didn’t wake up a few minutes ago LOL.
I had some technical issues. You know, I love free software, but when we don’t pay attention to what is it that we are doing, those free software can be very costly! Yes, they don’t cost you upfront money, instead they cost you time.
Time to figure out what is it that is slowing down your machine and changing your browser settings, time to download all the necessary tools to clean it, and the time-consuming that is to scan and clean your machine with each of those tools to make sure no one is stealing your sensitive data!
It doesn’t make it much fast when you have more than 500GB worth of data… Anyway, it’s all good now.

Right, today’s tutorial, I was in need of some notebooks, but I couldn’t find anything that I liked, so I bought some notebooks and sat with them at my craft table.

I thought I was doing this for myself, however, it happens that I bumped into someone who needs this one more than I do… Well, I have my own journals anyway, they just happen to be in the digital format.

For this one I wanted a double purpose notebook, that’s why I chose this opposite look method.

067@

 

This was the original cover. Well… Cupcakes are not really my cup of tea.

002

 

I cut a A4 Sheet of Very Vanilla cardstock in half, then I had to trim both sides a little bit to fit them on my cover.

009@

 

I put my scrap cardstock to work, and stamped the title using elegant eggplant Ink. The letters on the word ‘Journal’ have a good distance between them because I wanted to punch them out with the circle punch. I used the crayonletters2stamp stamp set by TSOL.

011@

 

I grabbed the Curly Label Punch to make the brackets on the word ‘Gratitude’

012@  013@  014@

 

And the 3/4″ circle punch for the word ‘Journal’.

015@

 

I sponged all edges with Seedless Preserves distress ink.

016@  017@

 

Continuing using my scraps, I punched out seven scalloped circles from a piece of Perfect Plum cardstock, with the 7/8″ scallop circle punch, gluing both layers with liquid glue.

018@  020@

 

I also had some Elegant Eggplant cardstock left that I punched out with the 1″ circle punch, attaching it to the other two layers with dimensional adhesive foam.

021@

 

I then started distressing my almost A5 piece of cardstock with Worn Lipstick distress ink,

024@

 

and Seedless Preserves distress ink.

025@

 

After attaching the title, again with liquid glue, I started the stamping. For the sentence ‘The of Life’ I used the miniabc2stamp by TSOL, the key from the Hardware stamp set by Clear Art Stamps, and the handwriting on the bottom right corner the Manuscript Backgrounds stamp set by Artemio. If you don’t have any handwriting background stamp you can get the En Francais background stamp by Stampin’ Up!.

026@

 

I stamped two butterflies from the Papillon Potpourri stamp set on another piece of Perfect Plum.

029@

 

And punched them out with the Bitty Butterfly punch. I’m in love with the stamp and punch bundles!

035@

 

This is a great way to make use of those scraps that are only taking up space but are too good to bin it. So I punched out two butterflies from another scrap of Elegant Eggplant, with the Elegant Butterfly punch.

032@

 

The self adhesive rhinestone gems add a beautiful finish to the butterflies, and since I can’t use them on my bookmarks…

037@  038@  040@

 

This punch is absolutely awesome to use those tiny scraps left behind! This punch is from the Itty Bitty Shapes Punch Pack, the pack brings 3 mini punches that are just delicious to add little touches here and there. I then lifted the tiny flowers up with the back of my pricking tool.

041@  042@

 

And attached them with glue dots on the opposite corners of my word ‘Gratitude’.

045@  046@

 

I love it! Oh, the flower stamp is from the swirls4words stamp set by TSOL.

059@

 

For the back of the notebook I made another front cover, this time for ‘My Book Of Positive Aspects’. For this one I used Faded Jeans and Brushed Corduroy distress ink.

050@

 

The letters are from the frilly4abc stamp set by TSOL.

054@

 

I then forgot that I was making a tutorial and forgot to take more pics and make a note of the stamp sets that I used. But they are all from TSOL (which stands for The Stamps Of Life), apart from that book that I cut out from a stamp I recently bought. I do know that I used a 2″, 1″ and 1/2″ circle punches.

065@

 

So, this is what my notebook looks like when I open it so you can see my 2-in-1 purpose book.

067@

 

Find my Facebook like page here.

Feel free to pin, like, share, tweak, adapt, be inspired, or just contact me if there is anything I can help with.

In Love & Gratitude,
Denise, xx

4 thoughts on “Gratitude Journal/My Book Of Positive Aspects ~ Notebook Covers

Leave a Reply

