“Do the best you can until you know better…” Handmade Bookmark

Pssst

Have you ever felt guilt? Regrets for things you did and you wish you had done differently?

I used to have a big affair with guilt, but I broke up with it now. However, I’m not out of the woods yet… Sometimes, even though my conscience tells me that I’m doing the right thing, people who don’t understand what I am feeling try to plant the seed of guilt in my heart, and because guilt once resided there, I have to battle myself all over again in order to not let guilt grow roots again. Only we know what’s best for us.

Sitting with this quote has helped me immensely. It has helped me understand that at certain given time, and according to certain circumstances I did the best I could because I didn’t know any better… When we forgive ourselves we can then release the guilt. Of course there is more to this, but I’m not getting into it here…

Anyway, I had this post ready on my drafts, and since yesterday I was asking myself if I should publish it today or not… Maya Angelou touched me since the first time I came across with her words, beautiful lady with so much wisdom to share…

Maya Angelou- I would like to be know as an intelligent woman

And you are my beautiful being! You left this world so much richer with the legacy you built and left to all of us.

 

Today’s project
SAM_4826@

 

Materials & tools used:

A piece of Elegant Eggplant cardstock measuring 15cm x 5cm

A piece of Perfect Plum cardstock measuring 14.5cm x 4.6cm

Printed quote or sentiment measuring 9.5cm x 3cm

Scalloped Tag Topper Punch by Stampin’ Up!

Round Binding Edge Slim Line Edger Punch by EK Success

Fine Feathers stamp set by Stampin’ UP!

Black Soot distress ink by Tim Holtz

Dusty Concord distress ink by Tim Holtz

Some sort of glue. I used liquid glue.

Step by step tutorial:

Once again I started by punching the piece of Elegant Eggplant cardstock, measuring 15cm x 5cm, with the Scalloped Tag Topper Punch for my first layer.

SAM_4821@

 

For the second layer I started by inking the edges of the Perfect Plum cardstock, measuring 14.5cm x 4.6cm, with Dusty Concord distress ink,

SAM_4814@

 

Then I stamped it with one of the feathers from the Fine Feathers stamp set, with Black Soot distress ink. I didn’t bother to stamp in the middle because I knew the quote would cover it.

SAM_4818@

 

I trimmed my quote and punched the top with the Round Binding Edge Punch, then inked the edges with the same Dusty Concord distress ink

SAM_4804@

 

This is how it looks like after the layers are assembled.

SAM_4826@

 

Find my Facebook like page here.

Feel free to pin, like, share, tweak, adapt, be inspired, or just contact me if there is anything I can help with.

In Love & Gratitude,
Denise, xx

Leave a Reply

