“When I tell you I love you” Handmade bookmark

 

I can see this bookmark as a sweet and thoughtful gift to a romantic partner.  And you don’t have to wait for a commercial date, as Teal Swan says, “Gifts are the language of love.” So, we can speak that language at any moment.

The note inside the envelope is loose, so a little personal message can be added.

Here is my creation for today.

SAM_4887@

 

Materials & tools used:

A piece of plain red cardstock measuring 21cm x 5cm

A piece of black cardstock measuring 18.5cm x 4.5cm

Printed quote or sentiment measuring 13cm x 3cm

Scalloped Tag Topper Punch by Stampin’ Up!

3/16 inch Corner Punch by Stampin’ Up!

Envelope punch by Woodware

Cupid Heart punch

minis4circles stamp set by The Stamps Of Life

Festive Berries distress ink by Tim Holtz

Black Soot distress ink by Tim Holtz

Some sort of glue. I used  liquid glue.

 

Step by step tutorial:

For the first layer I started by punching the red cardstock measuring 21cm x 5cm, with the Scalloped Tag Topper Punch, I just love these punches, I think they bring a really cute look to the bookmarks. I used ‘Real Red’ from the ‘Brights’ collection.

SAM_4867@

 

For the second layer I rounded the corners of the black cardstock measuring 18.5cm x 4.5cm. I used ‘Basic Black’ from the ‘Neutrals’ collection.

SAM_4872@

 

I then trimmed my quote to about 13cm x 3cm. I tore the bottom of it, just because I love the look of tore paper, and inked the edges with Festive Berries distress ink.

SAM_4876@

 

I spent an awful lot of time looking for a mini envelope punch, and these are the moments I wish I was living in the USA… Anyway, here in the UK I managed to buy a punch by Woodware. And can’t even begin to tell you how disappointed I am. I spent a total of £11.90 for this punch, so I expected it to be a good quality one… It didn’t punch through Stampin’ Up! cardstock, I wanted a red envelope to match the first layer. I’ve tried to punch other cardstock that I had around me, it didn’t punch too. So, I used the cardstock I use to print my quotes, which is a 160gsm, and distress it with Festive Berries distress ink.

I wish I had seen this tutorial before buying this punch, and I would have invested my money in a good quality tool.

SAM_4879@

 

I always have pieces of scrap paper around, and even the pieces that look to small, or narrow end up being useful. I distressed a strip of scrap paper with the same Festive Berries distress ink on one side, and Black Soot distress ink on the other side, and punched out a few Cupid Hearts. I had to pull out my tweezers in order to glue them, or they would instead be glued on my big fingers!

SAM_4870@  SAM_4884@

 

I slipped a piece of paper measuring 4.6cm x 2.4cm with the word ‘adore’ from the minis4circles stamp set. But you could handwrite anything on it 😉

SAM_4887@

 

Find my Facebook like page here

Feel free to pin, like, share, tweak, adapt, be inspired, or just contact me if there is anything I can help with.

In Love & Gratitude,
Denise, xx

Leave a Reply

