Japanese Screen Card ~ Happy Birthday

Hopefully, by the time this post is published my dear friend already received this card.

 

066@

The panels ready.

067@ 068@ 069@ 070@

 

The template of this card is a CASED project.

004@ 010@

 

For the bottom part I used the Decorative Label Punch, but I’ve seen other shapes. If you happen to have a nice (and strong) border punch it makes a beautiful top. Unfortunately, my border punches only go through paper or thin cardstock. 

008@

 

In this case I wanted to add a quote that was too big, and for that reason I made my measurements around that quote… Well, almost. In fact when I cut the panels, not for a second I remembered to leave space to punch the bottom, I was leaving margins of 0.5 cm on all four sides. So, because of that I didn’t punch as deep as I thought I would, and the top margin shrank to about 1mm. But you know what? It was my first attempt on this kind of card, so overall I’m happy with the result. 

013@

 

For the first panel, as this is a birthday card, I used happyBday2you and birthday4Cookie stamp sets (by The Stamps of Life), and just coloured the cake with Promarkers. I wanted to keep the colours to pink and brown but I didn’t happen to have any dark brown Promarker to make a chocolate cake.

023@ 041@

 

For this panel I used the Manuscript Background stamp set (by Artemio) stamped with Pearlescent Orchid ink (by Dew Drop Brilliance), a strip of washi tape, a square of printed tissue paper that I distressed with vintage photo distress ink (by Tim Holtz), the bird and the bird cage are die cuts. The flowers were punched out with the Petite Petals Punch, and for the centre of the flower I used the, recently retired, Itty Bitty Shapes Punch Pack by Stampin’ Up!. I also used the Elegant Butterfly Punch, the Bitty Butterfly Punch as well as the Papillon Potpourri Stamp Set. Plus, the also retired, Small Heart Punch. To finish this panel I added the gems and some Stickles on the bird and around the cage.

031@ 032@ 036@

 

This was how I made the pocket to hold the bookmark.

015@ 019@

 

027@ 028@ 029@ 039@

 

I left my quote for the last panel, for this piece I just tore the top and bottom and inked the edges with vintage photo distress ink (by Tim Holtz). I also added a panel on the back where I wrote a handmade note for my beloved friend. 

030@

 

 

Find my Facebook like page here.

Feel free to pin, like, share, tweak, adapt, be inspired, or just contact me if there is anything I can help with.

In Love & Gratitude,
Denise, xx

Leave a Reply

