Toilet Paper Roll Book ~Lessons in Life from Dr. Seuss~ [Structure]

It took me forever and a day to complete this project, and I feel like I have used about 1/3 of my craft materials on this project alone!
There is so much going on, that after pondering for an eternity on how to come about this tutorial, I decided to break it into a few posts, and I will not publish them all at the same time, so to not overwhelm anyone with notifications. I know how annoying that can be.

The only thing planned on this project was actually the structure, the colours (on the structure) and the ribbon I would use. Not even the closure was planned.

 

Here is what you can expect, if you decide to stick around for this project.

127@ 134@

133@ 135@

125@

 

For the structure of this book I followed this tutorial.

And this was how I’ve started 🙂

003 007 010 011

 

Then, after some consideration, I decided to search for more quotes from Dr. Seuss to add to the ones I had already selected to make some bookmarks. So, this book has 5 “sheets” each with one quote on the outside and one on the inside, plus one “sheet” to serve as the cover. Each “sheet” has two pages, plus two more pages in the insert “sheet”

My main colours for this book on the outside are: Orange, Yellow and Lilac. For that reason I distressed all “pages” with spiced marmalade distress ink, and set it aside to dry.

Structure (17)@

 

Moving on to the pages inserts, I cut my pieces at 12cm x 7cm, depending on how many layers you use to decorate, you might have to trim the sides to adjust the size. The Scalloped Tag Topper Punch punches perfectly 5cm wide pieces of paper, because my piece was 7cm I had to eyeball to get them centered the best I could, then I just had to trim the excess bits and round the corners.

Structure (1)@ Structure (2)@ Structure (3)@

 

For the pieces that will bind the pages together I cut them at 7.4cm x 8cm. The holes were made with the 1/8 (3.2mm) circle punch from the new Stampin’ Up! catalogue, and if you have fancy scissors, this is the time to get them out because the effect is really cute.  Then I inked the edges with the same spiced marmalade distress ink to match the outside “pages”. After my pages were done I added the eyelets on those holes to add some resistance and longer lasting results.

Structure (5)@ Structure (9)@ Structure (7)@ Structure (20)@

 

Last thing to do at this stage is to cut the cardstock to decorate both parts, or if you prefer you can use patterned paper. I cut the pieces for the page inserts at 9cm x 6cm, and the ones to attach to the paper rolls at 9cm x 6.5cm. And I cut pieces for both sides.

 

Structure (21)@

 

Find my Facebook like page here.

Feel free to pin, like, share, tweak, adapt, be inspired, or just contact me if there is anything I can help with.

In Love & Gratitude,
Denise, xx

Leave a Reply

