Name the Princess ~ Journal

Last week I made a journal cover for a boy, so this week I had to bring one for girls.

It’s nameless because I can personalise as people’s wishes.

I’m working on two more with castles (purples) and four with princess carriages, then I’m out of die cuts. I don’t own the die cutters, I buy the die cuts from Tracey. But if I have Fairy Godmothers queueing up to by journals for their Princesses, then I’ll order more ūüėČ

SAM_7124@

 

 

Material used:

Manuscript Background stamp set by Artemio

Flowering Flourishes Stamp Set by Stampin’ Up!

Tattered Rose, Worn Lipstick, Picked raspberry, Shaded Lilac and Dusty Concord distress ink

Die cuts & gems

Stampin’ Dimensionals

Liquid glue, I used Tombow Multi-Purpose Adhesive

 

For my first layer I used the Manuscript Background stamp, and the Tattered Rose distress ink.

SAM_7106@

 

For the second layer I combined the big stamp from the Flowering Flourishes Stamp Set with Worn Lipstick distress ink.

SAM_7113@

 

I then used Shaded Lilac to distress from the outside to the inside, but without covering my entire surface.

SAM_7116@

 

Dusty Concord to darken the edges.

SAM_7118@

 

Picked Raspberry to ink the edges of my words and the princess.

SAM_7114@

 

I wanted to add some texture to the die cuts, so I’ve tried the technique share by Debbie on this post. Trouble was my die cuts weren’t glossy paper, so the paper absorbed all paint almost immediately, and by the time I was trying to wrinkle the plastic wrap there was no paint left. I guess it would be fun to use the technique first and then die cut. ¬†

SAM_7062@ SAM_7060@

 

So, here is the cover waiting for a Princess’s name.

SAM_7124@

 

Find my Facebook like page here

Feel free to pin, like, share, tweak, adapt, be inspired, or just contact me if there is anything I can help with.

In Love & Gratitude,
Denise, xx

2 thoughts on “Name the Princess ~ Journal

  1. Lovely journal! I’m not a pink and/or princesses girl, but this colour combination and the diecuts are lovely. Beautifull background and lovely diecuts. Not too much, not too little going on.
    I guess I should have posted a warning about not using glossy paper – I did the same. I think it would work if you coated non-glossy paper with decoupage glue or a glimmer mist / perfect pearls mist spray too, as they somehow seal the paper a bit too. Even with thick paint it won’t work – The effect happens because the paint doesn’t adhere to the paper and seeps up in the folds. It might work as a shadow print maybe, do the technique on a glossy card and then transfer the foil to the absorbing paper. It will look something like in my card `A gift of nature¬ī, as that is a shadow print too. (On glossy paper, I’d have to try it on non-glossy paper).

    Like

    • Thanks Debbie.

      I got the glossy paper thing the minute the all thing failed, but it was a good experience nonetheless. Next time I know lol.

      I just discovered a few packs of paper I didn’t even know I had, some are photo glossy paper others postal card paper… Whatever that means. So I hope to try this technique again soon. Xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

