Clocks & Gears ~ Journal

I’ve lost the count of the number of times I had to start all over again… In the different layers!

It took me three attempts to get the first layer, then was the trouble with the rustic look on the gears… I gave up on that one, and just used Antiqued Bronze paint while I wait for the “proper” materials to arrive! 

Even though I painted a clock hand from one of the weathered clock die-cuts Zoe had sent me, I wasn’t liking the look of it in this… I guess this is a… Picture frame? Anywho, Zoe still saved my bacon. She had sent me some metal items from the Tim Idea-ology, and on that bunch it had the ideal hand, that’s actually named game spinner, and the beautiful brad (Fasteners), I’m already confused with so many different names for the same object! Moving on.

SAM_7291@

 

For this layer I used the dictionary4me stamp (by TSOL) and scattered straw distress ink.

SAM_7169@

 

I then used the clock from The Journey stamp set (Tim Holtz Visual Artistry) I just LOVE clear stamps!

SAM_7253@

 

And the sentiment from the same stamp set, with Cobalt archival ink.

SAM_7254@

 

I die cut the pocket watch (?) and used the same clock. 

SAM_7227@ SAM_7229@ SAM_7231@

 

Here I used this wonderful technique to get the leather look, then I use the 3D M-Bossabilities Creative Cogs embossing folder.

SAM_7146@

 

I don’t have (that) much patterned paper because I like to make my own backgrounds, so here I made exactly that. The stamp set I used here is called backgrounds2build (by TSOL).

SAM_7274@ SAM_7277@ SAM_7282@

 

I used the Tarnished Brass distress paint for the first layer,

SAM_7204@

 

Then I used distress ink in a poor attempt to get the faux patina look, and the only think I managed to do was to move the colour from one side to the other… I should have dabbed some paint on my craft sheet and get messy fingers! Lesson learnt. To seal the ink I used Judikins Micro Glaze.

 

SAM_7210@

 

Although this was not what I had in mind, I ended up settling for this layout. That or I would trash everything… And I just noticed that I’ve never got to distress the letters on the word journal… Oh well, not a good day to remember names, or anything else for that matter!

SAM_7291@

 

Find my Facebook like page here

Feel free to pin, like, share, tweak, adapt, be inspired, or just contact me if there is anything I can help with.

In Love & Gratitude,
Denise, xx

2 thoughts on “Clocks & Gears ~ Journal

  1. Sometimes things just don’t turn out how you envisioned them – still, this journal looks good! Let go of the idea you had, and look at it with new eyes. In a few days you’ll like it more. (I recently had a similar experience, with the fairy autumn card). Lovely alphabet stamps too.and indeed the game spinner fits very well!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You right Debbie, it took me a while to overcome the frustration, but I’ve moved on lol.
      We are always our own worst critic, right? Sometimes I forget that I’m in this for the fun of it.

      Yes those spinners, I’m in love with them now!

      The alphabet is actually a free font called Clock Face.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

