Chest Trunk

Guess who’s been into the recycling bin again?

Yep! This was a cardboard box that came with some Portuguese cakes, so I saved the box, instead of buying a piece to alter. After all we are crafters, right? So, why not use what we already have?

Of course, on a side note, can someone please tell me when does one stop saving things to recycle?…

SAM_7547@

 

Quick notes:

SAM_7543@

 

  • To get that effect, I first blotted the gesso onto my surface with the tool in the picture.
  • I then added the Tim Holtz distress paint, in this case Vintage Photo.
  • Used the Vintage Valise die to get my elements to decorate the trunk, that I painted with Tarnished Brass distress paint.
  • Used some of my scraps to make the straps.
  • Attached the elements with liquid glue first (on the edges only) then added the black brads.
  • Went to the recycling bin to get those metal things from husband’s empty beer cans 😀 used Black soot distress paint to match the brads.
  • Added the heart lock charm with another brad, and the key with some burlap string.

 

SAM_7567@ SAM_7564@ SAM_7560@

 

Find my Facebook like page here.

Feel free to pin, like, share, tweak, adapt, be inspired, or just contact me if there is anything I can help with.

In Love & Gratitude,
Denise, xx

4 thoughts on “Chest Trunk

  1. When the cupboards are full, and the extra Ikea sorting bin is full, and you hardly use the items as you still have such a huge stach of things to use….
    Lovely case! I have that die too, this is a great idea to use it.
    (scribbling down on my to do list: make chest with valise die)
    Hihi went to recycling bin to get metal things…
    I can almost see you go around the house searching for something that fits the shape you are searching! great idea to use those things.

    Like

  2. Hahaha I need to be careful as the to do list is getting longer than the time I have available.

    Yeh, I first tried the metal things from the canned beans, but those were too big for this project, and yes, you guessed! They are stored because we never know when they might be useful lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

