The Natural Path ~ Art Journal

Hello everyone,

So I decided to venture in this Art Journal thing, it seemed to be the natural path as I suck at card making and many things that I want to try don’t fit into my scrapbook albums, however, my struggle started on my first attempt. I love the distress inks and blending tool as much as I resist the brush but here I am… Trying. Leaning. Practicing.

After just half a page I had to get my distress inks and the blending tool, but I’ve tried.

Here is the thing, I can’t get the Gelatos thing right and I have tried, like, really hard. I can’t make myself like the result. Am I that addicted to distress ink?

When I saw the Gelatos I thought they were just perfect, the videos that I’ve watched make them look like so easy to use, so beautiful. The only thing I could master so far with Gelatos was how to make mud and a big mess. So in this first project, the cover of my journal, I had to start all over again, it seems that lately I can’t get it right at the first… So, at the second attempt I used the Gelatos on the top half of the page, then I just gave up and used the distress ink for the rest. Maybe I should just learn how to dance instead of blaming the floor.

If that wasn’t enough, here I am completely out of my comfort zone. Colour. Lots of it. Scary. But done!

Here is my first Art Journal project.

009@

Materials used: 
  • Promarkers pens: Mediterranean, yellow Y657, cocktail pink R438, pink carnation M328, orchid V528, bluebell V127, Mauve.
  •  Brilliance pearlescent ink: Purple, orchid, lavender, sunflower, sky blue, mediterranean blue, ivy.
  • Distress ink: Twisted citron, seedless preserves, picked raspberry.
  • Archival ink: Black jet (By Ranger)
  • Stamp sets: Swirls4words, list2write, boxes4abc (by TSOL). World of dreams, papillon potpourri (by Stampin’ Up!)
  • Punches: Bitty Butterfly Punch, Elegant Butterfly Punch (by Stampin’ Up!)
  • Gelatos: Baby blue, yellow, orange, pink, lilac.
  • Gesso, mate medium and tissue paper.

Some close-ups

009_1@ 009_2@ 009_3@

Until next time, have a great day!

In Love & Gratitude,

Denise

Leave a Reply

