Stencil Storage

 

After some research on the internet, I ended up deciding for the plastic protector sleeves as a method to store my stencils. Trouble was I could not find an affordable 3 ring binder to put my plastic sleeves. 3 ring binders are not easy to find in Europe so they tend to be overpriced. I buy the sleeves from the USA, and I was not willing to overpay for a binder just because. Instead, I used the cardboard of the packaging where the page protectors came and added a flap so I can use the binding screws and extension posts (I think they are also called Chicago screws but don’t quote me on that).

The best part of this system is that it doesn’t have a spine, so you can expand it as your collection does, no need for extra folders… Unless you are a maniac stencil obsess, in that case, maybe you would need more folders so you can carry them…

12×12 stencils

Front and back. It took only two pieces of cardstock and a flap secured with duck tape.

For the title, I used art tiles (made of recycled packaging from cat food)

002@  024@025@

 

The spine(less)

003@ 026@

 

I inked the stencil image on the piece of cardstock that goes inside, put a label on the outside of the sleeve with the name and brand, so that way I always know what name goes with which image, no more guessing when storing them after the use of a bunch of stencils on one project…

006@

 

Each pack of plastic sleeves comes with a piece of chipboard that will serve to make the covers for my 6×6 and 8×8 binders.

How cool would it be if companies could think in packaging their products in a way that would also serve as a storage method? It would be a win-win for everyone… Just sayin’.

 

In Love & Gratitude,
Denise

Leave a Reply

